Most come for the information and opportunity. Most stay for the friendships that are formed. Welcome!

GalleryHomePortalFAQRegisterLog in

Ignition boxes make me confused

Go down 
AuthorMessage
RickV

RickV

Number of posts : 103
Registration date : 2008-09-01

Ignition boxes make me confused Empty
PostSubject: Ignition boxes make me confused   Ignition boxes make me confused EmptySun Nov 16, 2008 9:00 pm

Ok here's the deal. As you all know I am new to this Rhino stuff. I am looking to get some more power from my 700 particuarly bottom end. From what I have seen on all the different forums using a programmable controller is the way to go, then exhaust. So that brings up the question, which one? Seems the most popular is the Dynatek. Is there any out there that have selectible multiple maps? Come on guys help a newbie out.
Back to top Go down
AIRBORNE
SSXSRider Member
AIRBORNE

Number of posts : 6264
Registration date : 2008-05-01

PostSubject: Re: Ignition boxes make me confused   Ignition boxes make me confused EmptySun Nov 16, 2008 9:12 pm

Well, I recommend the VDI, especially if you are going to add an exhaust. I know some will argue this and that, but the VDI unit has served me very well on my King Quad and I am adding one to my Rhino once I get back. The VDI is a programmable unit, but it will come set from the factory with two maps. One will be the factory settings with the limiters, and the other will be the advance timing map with no limiters. It has a switch you can flip to choose between the two. You can also tweak your own map with the USB interface and a computer if you like to make it feel "right" to you. Units run differently so the ability to tune is a plus for some, especially if you add a high-flow airfilter or exhaust. If you want the bottom end, you can always try shims behind the primary clutch, but you will lose a little on the top end.