SouthernSxSRiders
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Most come for the information and opportunity. Most stay for the friendships that are formed. Welcome!

GalleryHomePortalLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Toy Hauler/RV information thread

Go down 
+6
crs
bush
RedNeckRanger
Big-R
Goose
Gimpy
10 posters
AuthorMessage
Gimpy
SSXSRider Member
Gimpy

Number of posts : 7708
Registration date : 2009-10-01

Toy Hauler/RV information thread Empty
PostSubject: Toy Hauler/RV information thread   Toy Hauler/RV information thread EmptyFri Feb 13, 2015 5:42 pm

Thought some who may be new to rv'ing, are some us who do it often might have some good information to share on here. So I have had some bad experiences even with newer trailers I have had.
Back to top Go down
http://lwurzel@twc.com
Gimpy
SSXSRider Member
Gimpy

PostSubject: Re: Toy Hauler/RV information thread   Toy Hauler/RV information thread EmptyFri Feb 13, 2015 5:50 pm

The first thing is a serious problem I have found in the last trailer, the Road Warrior 5th wheel.  Even though it was claimed to have only been used once, it is the same problem as I had on the XLR I use to have.  Both have an on board generator.  They both have a Progressive Dynamics Transfer Switch (switch to transfer shore power or generator power to the breaker box).  Check your 9 large wire lugs often, and the smaller ones in the switch box if you can get to them.  On the XLR it was too late.  They loosen up with time and the road ride.  On the XLR they got loose and started arching, melted a lot of the inside and almost caught fire.  On the new trailer I found all 9 loose too.  

Next check your wire lugs on each breaker.  The XLR had some loose.  None were loose on the Road Warrior.

Next check the screws on the 12 volt fuse connections, in your breaker box.  I found them loose on both trailers.
Back to top Go down
Gimpy
SSXSRider Member
Gimpy